A whistle-stop tour of my time at Truth so far…

A whistle-stop tour of my time at Truth so far…

My time at Truth has flown by, and I have already gathered more information for my dissertation than I could have imagined. Everybody in the office has been more than welcoming, and I am keen to see what else I’ll get up too! So far the majority of my time has been spent doing desk research for a variety of different projects and brands – from unilever brands such as Dove, to leading players in the financial world. I am amazed by the sheer amount of brands that Truth work with all at one time!

I was even given a snazzy notebook! (Definite highlight of the week...)

I was even given a snazzy notebook! (Definite highlight of the week…)

When working with a team from Truth on a project for Dove, firstly I undertook desk research by compiling a data base of claims that other beauty companies have come up with about their own products. This was to make sure that the new range that Truth were helping to market for Dove really stood out, and wasn’t simply a repeat of a product already on the market. I also attended a workshop in the office, where a team of us worked on creating trends, problems and solutions in order to market a range that is relatable for consumers. I found this really interesting as it was a totally different exercise from anything I had done before, and required everybody to bring ideas to the table.

Charlotte and I at a meeting with one of Truth's board directors (and yes, their offices are very pink!)

Charlotte and I at a meeting with one of Truth’s board directors (and yes, their offices are very pink!)

So what do Truth think about culture, and why are they so interested in it?
My placement at Truth is vital as a way of shaping and defining my dissertation research, and after having an initial meeting with one of Truth’s directors before I began the placement, I couldn’t have been paired up with a better agency which links in so well with so many of my dissertation ideas.The key method I am using for my research is interviewing Truth’s employees, of which they have been more than kind in talking to me. As explained in my first blog, the focus of my dissertation is primarily investigating why commercial agencies are so interested in culture, combing the three themes of ‘commerce, culture and branding’. From my interview with one of Truth’s content strategists, he claimed that for Truth, culture is all about digging beyond what is immediately there, so for Truth as a commercial agency, it provides a grounding when talking to clients. Quite simply, he states that culture influences brands, and brands influence culture, so it is imperative for Truth to keep the idea of culture at the forefront of their own research.

My final blog will discuss in more detail the findings of my research, as well as an update of what else I have managed to get stuck into at Truth!

Leave a Reply

