The Middle

At the end of my first week at StreetInvest, now is the perfect time to reflect on what I have been doing, where I have come from and where I need to go. This week I have been spending my time sitting at a computer compiling data on homeless policy and frameworks for young people in the UK. This has been really interesting and I have learnt that it’s not surprising so many young people fall through the gaps in regards to both policy and provision. For youth’s under 18 it is relatively easy and straightforward to get help if you become homeless. However, once you are over 18 but under 24/25 it is a maze of assessments, criteria and paperwork. It is very hard to understand if you are eligible for help and if so where that support is going to come from and for how long. It’s no wonder that so many young people report feeling confused and misunderstood during the process! I have been asked to write a blog post about this issue which can be found on the StreetInvest website.

In regards to my dissertation, my ideas have moved forwards and backwards in the last few days. Doing a placement-linked dissertation has really allowed me to be constantly thinking and working on my project without realizing it. I’ve made countless notes from the StreetInvest based research I have done. This has meant that I have lots of new ideas- such as how to discuss home and policy. However, the next challenge is combining them into one project. So far my core idea remains the same. I want to focus on LGBTQ+ lived experiences of homelessness or near homelessness in relation to home, identity and policy.

Next week I hope to finalise my dissertation ideas and discuss these with my tutor. This will allow me to move forward and interview some of the StreetInvest staff and other participants. I am really excited to see where this project goes!

Leave a Reply

